Skip to content

Čokoládova Roláda

March 14, 2011

 

Čokoládova Roláda

Čokoládova Roláda is another recipe found in Pauline’s handwritten cookbook.  Slovak for “chocolate roulade”, it is also called “swiss roll” by the British.  The cake originates from Central Europe, not Switzerland, as its name implies.  The cake is also found in France (Bûche de Noël) and in Spain (where they call it brazo de gitano – gypsies’ arms). Pauline would make this fancy sponge cake for special occasions.  The souffle-like batter is commonly used in Pauline’s cakes, using whipped eggwhites as the leavening agent.  As a child, I especially liked helping her with this recipe as I liked to assemble the cake and lick the whipped cream off the beaters.  I still like it.

Cake Ingredients:

  • 4 egg-yolks
  • 4 egg whites, whipped stiff
  • 12 dg of sugar (1/2 cup)
  • 12 dg of chocolate (cocoa) (1/2 cup)
  • 12 dg of butter, melted (1/2 cup)
  • 12 dg of cake flour (1/2 cup)

Cake Steps:

1. Cream together eggs yolks and sugar until light and creamy

2. Add in cocoa, butter and flour

3. Whip egg whites to a stiff peak

4. Fold egg whites into yolk batter gently

5. Spread cake batter onto a jellyroll pan that is sprayed with cooking spray, then lined with a piece of parchment paper that is also sprayed

6. Bake at 375 degrees for about 10 minutes

7. After removing the cake from the oven, cool slightly, then lift out of the pan by the parchment paper and turn onto a piece of tinfoil; peel off the parchment paper carefully

8. Gently roll the cake from the short end into a jelly roll shape and wrap the tinfoil around it to maintain its shape

9.  After the cake has cooled, unroll it, then spread it with the desired filling(s), and re-roll, tightly, leaving the ends loose.

10. Wrap the tinfoil around again, and refrigerate at least 4-8 hours.

11. Remove from tinfoil and sprinkle with sifted, powdered sugar.

12. Garnish with fresh fruit.

A bite of my Čokoládova Roláda.

Fillings:

Pauline filled her sponge roll with homemade strawberry, cherry or raspberry jam (melted first) and whipped cream.  For an elegant twist, try my chestnut mousse instead of whipped cream, and a liquor in place of the jam.

Whipped  Cream

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Whip the cream on high, slowing sprinkling in the sugar and vanilla, until stiff peaks.


7 Comments leave one →
  1. Stan permalink
    March 15, 2011 9:59 am

    “Swiss rolls”. You have dredged up a deeply buried childhood pleasure of post-war England…
    One of my mother’s best creations….. I can taste them now…. many thanks for the memory.

    • March 15, 2011 10:18 am

      My pleasure. I wonder why the British called them swiss rolls?

      • Stan permalink
        March 15, 2011 10:36 am

        Interesting question and Wikipedia and other sources agree with your research that this was indeed of Central European origin.
        My (shot in the dark) guess would be that as Switzerland is landlocked, perhaps they signify the sweet filling between the surrounding layers?

  2. Jessica permalink
    March 16, 2011 9:12 pm

    Hi-
    This has nothing to do with your lovely cake above, but I didn’t find an ’email’ button… 🙂 I am doing some family research on ancestry and I was wondering whether you had further information about William Henry Cascaden? I am related through his daughter Eleanor (1817-1897), who married James Smith Burdick in Ontario.
    Thanks,
    Jessica

  3. Lily permalink
    March 17, 2011 6:19 pm

    I can’t believe I don’t remember my mom making this roll! Do you think, having 5 kids in the family with big appetites, I maybe never got my share?

    • March 17, 2011 9:06 pm

      Most likely! I can’t believe you can’t remember. Aunt Diane still makes it, and I know SHE remembers! I bet your brothers ate it before you had a chance.

Leave a Reply

