Skip to content

Chestnut Cream Mousse

November 14, 2010

Tonya's Chestnut Cream Mousse

Pauline’s cookbook contains several recipes for chestnuts, an ingredient seldom found in recipes here in North America. I searched high and low for chestnut puree, the meat of the chestnut often sold in cans in Europe. I finally located them on Amazon.com, and ordered a 14 oz can which cost $7.45 plus shipping. Expensive, but it sure was easier and gentler on my finger nails to use the puree than to boil and then scrape out the meat like I did with the fresh chestnuts I bought at the farmer’s market recently.

When a group of Slovak friends came over the other night for an evening of cooking for the Czech and Slovak festival, I pulled out the can and came up this quick recipe to serve for dessert.  The results: a pale brown colored dessert that is not too sweet, with the consistency of mousse and with a slightly nutty flavor.   It would make an interesting dessert for Thanksgiving instead of pumpkin pie,  served inside  puff pastry.

Serves 12.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chestnut puree
  • 2 packages vanilla sugar
  • 2 cups heavy cream (you can use a little less too for a denser mousse)
  • 1/4 cup dark rum
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup sugar (depending on how sweet you like it)
  • shaved chocolate

Steps:

  1. Whip the cream with the vanilla sugar to stiff peaks
  2. Blend the chestnut puree with the sugar and rum until smooth
  3. Fold 1/2 cup of the whipped cream into the puree mix to lighten it
  4. Carefully fold in another cup of the whipped cream into the puree
  5. Spoon the puree mix into a crystal serving bowl
  6. Spread the remaining cream over top of the puree
  7. Chill for about 1 hr
  8. Serve in small bowls with shaved chocolate
9 Comments leave one →
  1. Stan permalink
    November 15, 2010 10:50 am

    Totally decadent (and a quarter cup of rum ?)
    This photograph should be labelled hazardous to your health…
    where can I taste these in Canada ?

    • November 15, 2010 1:22 pm

      Oh, come on – it’s split across 12 people! Maybe I drank the quarter cup, and then added two tbsp of rum to the recipe – who remembers?! I do wonder where you can buy the puree in Canada – couldn’t find it there either.

      Perhaps over the holidays in December we will have to have a party in Ontario…

      • Stan permalink
        November 15, 2010 3:31 pm

        My mission impossible task to search Toronto for that chestnut puree and I gladly accept in time for the party:)

  2. November 15, 2010 4:57 pm

    Acceptance accepted :). The week between Christmas and New Year’s?

  3. January 11, 2011 1:42 am

    I am, through no choice of my own, a, “CANCELLED CZECH” having come to the U.S at age 2. I am glad that my parents had the foresight to immigrate in 1948 for a new beginning and endless opportunities. But, as I get older, I yearn for the taste of the foods that my mother. I have been to Czech Republic 4 times, the first being in May 1990 following the Velvet Revolution, while the Russian tanks were still rolling in the streets. There was a “WALL OF SHAME” erected for all to see, as well as throw tomatoes at. I am planning another trip as soon as the weather gets a bit more tolerable. Sorry for the ramble…just wanted to share.
    And, now my small QUESTION: Do you think that another nut pureed [walnut, pistachio, etc] would work out?
    Regards,
    EZ

    • January 11, 2011 8:31 am

      Hi EZ, I love your term “cancelled czech” – I’ve never heard that before. I understand your feelings, and it’s funny that we yearn for a place through its food.

      Regarding the chestnut mousse, the nut would have to be well pureed, and a meaty one. I think pistachio and pecans would work. The chestnuts are softer and a bit more wet than the others, but I’ve used nuts in place of flour before in Pauline’s other recipes. Good luck! Tonya

Trackbacks

  1. Cooking for Czech and Slovak Christmas Bazaar - Slovakia Blog

Leave a comment